» Sports » Defending champs India take on China in Azlan Shah opener

Defending champs India take on China in Azlan Shah opener

Source: PTI
May 05, 2010 13:41 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

With almost all the teams bringing in new-look squads, India will target their fifth Sultan Azlan Shah trophy. However, success won't come easy as the defending champions will have to overcome some stiff resistance from world champions Australia and Asian champions South Korea along the way.

India, four-times winners, will play China in their campaign opener on Thursday and will clash with arch rivals Pakistan in Ipoh, Malaysia, on Friday.

India's squad is well balanced with Sreejesh and Bharat Chetri guarding the goal post. The deep defence will be in the hands of Dhananjay Mahadik, Bharat Chikara and two rookie drag-flickers - 18-year old Amit Prabhakar and Rupinder Pal Singh - while the versatile Sardar Singh is expected to lend stability in the dual role of defender and playmaker.

The mid-field quintet has seen the return of former skipper Prabodh Tirkey and Ravi Pal Singh. They will join Gurbaj Singh, Arjun Halappa, Vikas Pillay and Danish Mujtaba.

The Indian attack will be spearheaded by captain Rajpal Singh with Shivendra Singh, Mandeep Antil, Tushar Khandeker and Sarvanjit Singh.

All the other participating teams are using this tournament as a build up for the future.

Australia has only four players from their World Cup squad while Pakistan led by Muhammad Imran has fielded virtually the South Asian Games outfit, dropping all their stars.

South Korea have also made six changes from the world cup team, while Egypt who have the capability of causing an upset or two with their swift turnovers and robust defence has a blend of youth and experience.

Hosts Malaysia will be again expected to show the home supporters that they are no pushovers.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22