NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Hamilton storms to Singapore pole

Hamilton storms to Singapore pole

September 27, 2009 01:05 IST

Lewis HamiltonWorld champion Lewis Hamilton put McLaren on pole position for Sunday's Singapore Grand Prix after title contender Rubens Barrichello crashed in the dying seconds of Saturday's qualifying.

The Briton lapped the floodlit 5.067km Marina Bay street circuit in one minute 47.891 seconds to top the timesheets, with the final session red-flagged with just 26 seconds remaining on the clock.

"It's absolutely fantastic and I am very happy for the team," Hamilton told reporters.

It was the Briton's second pole in a row, third in four races and 16th in 49 career starts.

"Throughout the weekend we have constantly been performing upgrades, so we didn't really know how fast we were. Friday practice didn't go that well so to come here today and do so well is a testament to the team as they worked through the night," he added.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel and Williams' Nico Rosberg, who was quickest in the second part of qualifying, will start second and third respectively after Barrichello's crash prevented either from trying to beat Hamilton's time.

Brawn's championship leader Jenson Button, 14 points ahead of team mate Barrichello with four races remaining, qualified 12th. Barrichello, who hit the wall heavily at Turn Five, will start two places ahead of him.


The Brazilian qualified fifth but incurred a five place penalty for changing his gearbox after the final free practice session.

Hamilton had complained that sections of the track were dangerous prior to Saturday's final free practice but the 24-year-old Briton was all smiles when he addressed the media afterwards.

"The lap was good, I was very relaxed," Hamilton added. "The car has got better and better over the weekend. The circuit has evolved and got a little bit grippier. I was able to go faster so we will see what happens with the strategies."

Vettel trails Button by 26 points and although overhauling the Briton in the title race looks a distant prospect, the German was on a quick run before Barrichello's accident halted proceedings.

"It's great to be back qualifying near the front. Especially as this is a street circuit," Vettel said.

"The whole weekend the car was really good and although the flag came out we did well and were able to keep pushing.

"It's a long race tomorrow (Sunday), 61 laps and I believe it will be tough but we have what it takes to challenge for the win."

Coming into the weekend, Brawn needed 14 points more than the Red Bulls to secure the constructors' title in their debut season but the team will now be looking at a damage limitation exercise rather than a push for glory.

"It's not a good position to be in," Button said. "It is tough, and yeah, I am worried I am not going to be able to get any points."

Team principal Ross Brawn was even more pessimistic.

"It's a disastrous session for us," the Briton said. "We underestimated the competition in Q2 because we used one old set (of tyres), then one new set, and didn't get the car balanced well on the new set."

Qualifying result on Saturday for the Formula One Singapore Grand Prix:

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain)      McLaren - Mercedes   1:47.891
  2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany)    RedBull - Renault    1:48.204
  3. Nico Rosberg (Germany)        Williams - Toyota    1:48.348
  4. Mark Webber (Australia)       RedBull - Renault    1:48.722
  5. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil)   Brawn - Mercedes     1:48.828
  6. Fernando Alonso (Spain)       Renault              1:49.054
  7. Timo Glock (Germany)          Toyota               1:49.180
  8. Nick Heidfeld (Germany)       BMW Sauber           1:49.307
  9. Robert Kubica (Poland)        BMW Sauber           1:49.514
10. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)   McLaren-Mercedes     1:49.778
11. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan)       Williams - Toyota    1:47.013
12. Jenson Button (Britain)       Brawn - Mercedes     1:47.141
13. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)      Ferrari              1:47.177
14. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:47.369
15. Jarno Trulli (Italy)          Toyota               1:47.413
16. Adrian Sutil (Germany)        Force India-Mercedes 1:48.231
17. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain)     Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:48.340
18. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)  Ferrari              1:48.350
19. Romain Grosjean (France)      Renault              1:48.544
20. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy)     Force India-Mercedes 1:48.792

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.