News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Commonwealth Games images: Day 10

Commonwealth Games images: Day 10

Last updated on: October 14, 2010 00:16 IST

Image: India's Paramjeet Samota poses with his gold medal on Wednesday
Photographs: Reuters

Paramjeet Samota, Suranjoy Mayengbam and Manoj Kumar brought some cheer back in the Indian boxing camp, winning gold medals in their respective categories at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, on Wednesday.

Samota also had an easy outing against Trinidad and Tobago's Tariq Abdul Haqq in the final of the Super heavyweight +91 kg, winning 5-1.

Manoj Kumar makes light work of Saunders

Image: India's Manoj Kumar (left) lands a punch on England's Bradley Saunders during their final on Wednesday

India's lesser known boxer Manoj Kumar announced himself to the world when he outclassed English boxer Bradley Saunders in the men's 62 kg light-welterweight final on Wednesday.

Manoj won the bout comprehensively, scoring a 11-2 win, to claim the gold medal.

Suranjoy breaks no sweat for yellow metal

Image: Suranjoy Singh

India's boxing gold glut was started by Suranjoy Singh on Wednesday.

He didn't have to move a muscle as his opponent pulled out of the 52 kg flyweight event final to hand Suranjoy his first Commonwealth Games gold.

Kenyan Benson Njangiru pulled out of the event due to injury.

Shooters continue to bring home the medals

Image: Malaysia's Ng Pei Chin Bibiana (centre) poses with India's silver medallist Heena Sidhu (left) and Australia's bronze medallist Dina Aspandiyarova after winning the women's singles 10m air pistol shooting finals on Wednesday

Indian shooters continued their golden run at the Games after Heena Sidhu won a silver and Samaresh Jung a bronze for India in shooting.

Having won the women's 10 metre air pistol pairs event, Heena won her second medal in the form of a silver when she scored 481.6 and finished behind Malaysia's Chin Bibiana NG Pei (481.9) in the singles 10m air pistol for women.

Dina Aspandiyarova of Australia got the bronze with 478.8.

'Goldfinger' misses gold

Image: Singapore's gold medallist Gai Bin (centre) poses with Trinidad's silver medallist Peter Roger Daniel (right) and India's bronze medallist Samaresh Jung after winning the men's singles 25m standard pistol shooting finals on Wednesday
India's 'goldfinger' Jung disappointed at the Dr Karni Singh range, settling for a bronze medal in the men's 25m standard pistol singles after logging 559 points.

Bin Gai of Singapore won the gold with 570 points, while Roger Peter Daniel claimed the silver, with 563.

Later, another disappointment came in the form of Gagan Narang's poor showing at the shooting range. The shooter was visibly disappointed after his sixth and final event -- 50-metres Rifle Prone -- where he didn't even qualify for the final.

Narang was also unlucky that he missed out on a medal in the 50-metres Rifle Prone pairs event because his partner Hariom Singh was unwell.

Australia women defend hockey title

Image: Australia's players pose after clinching the gold medal after the women's field hockey final on Wednesday

Australia successfully defended their Commonwealth Games crown, defeating a spirited New Zealand 4-2 via the tie-breaker in the final of the women's hockey event at the Major Dhyan Chand National stadium on Wednesday.

The Kiwi girls showed great fighting spirit and came back twice from a goal down to deny title holders Australia victory in regulation time. However, in the shoot-out Australia converted four out of their five strokes, while the Kiwis could score only from two.

The teams were locked 2-2 at the end of full-time, and even extra-time failed to break the deadlock.

Scotland, Canada win first Games gold in cycling

Image: David Millar

Both Canada and Scotland claimed their first gold medals in the cycling event in the 2010 Commonwealth Games in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Scotland's David Millar, who had earlier won a bronze medal in road race last Sunday, outplayed the likes of New Zealand's Jesse Sergent and Northern Ireland's David McCann to take the first position in 40 km time trial race on Wednesday.

Millar completed the race in 47 minutes and 18.66 seconds to secure the gold, while England's Alex Dowsett was only a second behind to take the silver. And Australia's Luke Durbidge timed 48:19.22 to bag the bronze.

Earlier on Wednesday, Canadian cyclist Tara Alice Whitten won the first gold for her country in the cycling event.

Linda Villumsen of New Zealand won the silver medal, while England's Julia Shaw snatched the bronze in the 29 kilometer individual time trial race.

Sharath Kamal-Saha win TT doubles

Image: Achanta Sharath Kamal (left) and Subhajit Saha
Photographs: PIB

The Indian pair of Achanta Sharath Kamal and Subhajit Saha won the men's doubles table tennis gold.

Olympian Sharath and former National champion Subhajit Saha ensured that table tennis contributes a gold to India's medal haul at the Games by overcoming Singapore's Gao Ning and Yang Zi 3-2 in the men's doubles final.

Earlier, Kamal's dreams of defending his singles title went up in smoke after a narrow 3-4 semi-final loss to Singapore's Yang Zi.

The Indian women had already clinched a silver, while the men won bronze in the team events.

Elaine Koon claims rhythmic gymnastics bronze

Image: Elaine Koon in action in the rhythmic gymnastics event on Wednesday
Gymnast Elaine Koon added another bronze for Malaysia after she clinched third placing in the rhythmic gymnastics individual all around women's final at the Delhi Commonwealth Games here Wednesday.

She scored 96 points in the event held at the Indira Gandhi Stadium.

Naazmi Johnson impresses judges to take gold

Image: Australia's Naazmi Johnson competes with the hoop during her gold medal performance in the rhythmic gymnastics event on Wednesday

Koon did well enough in the ribbon rhythmic gymnastics event to take bronze, but it was Australia's Naazmi Johnson who took home the big prize.

Naazmi won the gold with 100.1 points and Chrystalleni Trikomit of Cyprus grabbed the bronze after earning 98.97 points.