« Back to articlePrint this article

Jamaica names second string athletics squad for CWG

September 19, 2010 16:36 IST

Athletics powerhouse Jamaica named an understrength 46-member squad sans some of the biggest stars in the world, including top sprinters, for next month's Commonwealth Games in India.

Double world record holder sprinter Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, world and Olympic champions Shelly-Ann Fraser (100m) and Melaine Walker (400m Hurdles) are the big names missing from the Jamaican squad for the October 3-14 Games.

In the men's 100m race, Lerone Clarke and Oshane Baily, who both have more than 10 seconds timing this season, are leading the challenge.

There is no Yohan Blake, no Nesta Carter -- the leading Jamaican this season (9.78s) -- and even Michael Frater, who all are sub 10 sec runners this year.

In the men's 200m also, in the absence of Bolt, Powell and Blake who all are sub 20 sec runners, the responsibility of leading the Jamaicans has fallen to Lansford Spence, who has a season's best of 20.63sec.

In the women's 100m, Jamaica has named mostly unknown names without season's world leader Veronica Campbell Brown, Shelly-Ann Fraser, Kerron Stewart and Sheri-Ann Brooks.

Melbourne Games gold medallist Sherone Simpson's name is missing from the 200m squad, who clocked 22.65sec in July in Paris.

Jamaica dominated the sprinting events in the previous edition in Melbourne, winning gold in both men's and women's 100m, 200m, 4 x 100m relay, men's 110m hurdles and women's 100m hurdles.

In the absence of the big stars, the prominent members of the squad are  top woman 800m runner Kenia Sinclair who won silver in Melbourne, IAAF Continental Cup double gold medallist woman 400m hurdler Nickesha Wilson, and two other 2006 Games silver medallists -- men's shot putter Dorian Scott and men's decathlete  Mauruce Smith.

There was a major blow to the 4 x 400m team also after the withdrawal of two members -- Allodin Fothergill and Roxroy Cato.

The withdrawal leaves just six men in the mile relay pool, which includes former national senior 400m champion Lanceford Spence, who has been named to run both relays as well as the 200m, and 800m specialist Ricardo Cunningham.

There were a number of surprises in the team, including IAAF World Junior Championships 100m bronze medallist Remaldo Rose, who is coming off injury and ran sparingly this season.

400m hurdler Josef Robertson, who also ran sparingly with little success and former decathlon national record holder Claston Bernard, who has been out of the sport for several years, have also been included in the squad.

Jabari Ennis, who retuned to pole vault this year after several years away, was named in the team along with the US-based Christopher Smith.

Both team manager Judith Ewart and head coach Maurice Wilson agreed Jamaica's main chances for medals will come form the field events where national record holders Maurice Smith Dorian Scot and Jason Morgan (discus) have been selected.


Women: Yanique Boothe (100m, 4x100m), Shanna Thomas (100m, 4x100m), Audra Segree (200m, 4x100m), Davita Prendergast (400m, 4x400m), Dominique Blake (400m, 4x400m), Nadia Cunningham (400m), Tanice Barnett (800m), Kenia Sinclair (800m), Twishanna Williams (1500m), Andrea Bliss (100m hurdles, 4x100m), Nickeisha Wilson (400m hurdles, 4x400m), Sheree Francis (high jump), Nickiesha Beaumont (long jump, 4x400m), Nickevea Wilson (long jump, 4x400m), Trecia Smith (triple jump), Zara Northover (shot put), Nadia Alexander (shot put), Natalie Grant (hammer throw), Tammilee Kerr (javelin, Heptathlon), Kateema Riettie (javelin), Peaches Roach (Heptathlon).

Men: Oshane Bailey (100m, 4x100m), Lerone Clarke (100m, 4x100m), Rasheed Dwyer (100m, 4x100m), Lansford Spence (200m, 4x100m, 4x400m), Steve Slowly (200m, 4x100m), Remaldo Rose (4x100m), Ramone McKenzie (200m, 400m), Oral Thompson (400m, 4x400m), Ricardo Cunningham (800m, 4x400m), Aundrae  Drummond (800m), Rayan Lawrence (1500m), Shawn Pitter (1500m), Hansle Parchment (110m Hurdles), Eric Keddo (110m hurdles), Adrian Findlay (400m hurdles), Josef Robertson (400m hurdles), Nicholas Thomas (long jump), Darrel Garwood (high jump), Wilbert Walker (triple jump), Dorian Scott (shot put), Raymond Brown (shot put), Jason Morgan (discus), Jabari Ennis (pole vault), Christopher Smith (pole vault), Maurice Smith (decathlon), Claston Bernard (decathlon).


© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.