» Sports » Azlan Shah: India crush Egypt 7-1, to meet Korea in final

Azlan Shah: India crush Egypt 7-1, to meet Korea in final

Source: PTI
May 15, 2010 20:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Drag-flicker Dhananjay Mahadik scored a hat-trick as defending champions India crushed Egypt 7-1 to enter the final of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey tournament in Ipoh on Saturday.

Mahadik (34th, 40th, 42nd minute), skipper Rajpal Singh (44th), Rupinder Pal Singh (48th), Tushar Khandekar (49th), Sarvanjit Singh (70th) scored for India in what was a must-win match, while Abd El Hakim Ahmed (68th) was the lone Egyptian goal-getter.

India will take on Korea in the summit clash on Sunday.

India had earlier made six appearances in the final of the tournament and ended on the victorious side on four occasions in 1985, 1991, 1995 and 2009. They had lost to Argentina in the 2008 title clash by a golden goal.

Contrary to the result, India were made to struggle in the first half by the Egyptians and were denied the lead till the 34th minute when Mahadik flicked from their sixth penalty corner.

Though the Indian forwards attacked relentlessly from the start, initially they found the Egyptian defence like a wall, especially goalkeeper Mabrouk Mohamed.

Indian forwardline comprising Shivendra Singh, Rajpal, Mandeep Antil and Tushar were ably supported up by Gurbaj Singh, Arjun Halappa, Vikas Pillay and Ravi Pal Singh in the midfield but Mahadik's goal was what they could manage in the first half.

However, Mahadik's goal seemed to have opened floodgates for the Indians, who went on the rampage after the change of end.

Mahadik struck again with ease in the 40th and 42nd minutes after Halappa and Shivendra won India short corners. Skipper Rajpal joined the party in the 44th minute, scoring from a Bharat Chikara pass.

Young Faridkot drag-flicker Rupinder Pal Singh then scored his first goal for the senior team when he beat Mabrouk to his left in the 48th minute from India's tenth penalty corner.

The goal was followed by Khandker finding the mark in the next minute after combining with Rajpal.

Egypt, however, pulled one back against the run of the mill in the 68th minute through Abd El Hakim Ahmed.

But Sarvanjit Singh completed India's tally just seconds from the hooter when he pushed home after the Egyptian custodian was caught on the wrong foot.

Earlier in the day, world champion Australia recorded a comfortable 4-0 win over China in another round-robin match but it was enough to book their place in the title clash.

Kieran Govers (3rd and 21st) struck twice while Christopher Ciriello (50th) and Grant Schubert (51st) scored a goal each for the Kookaburras.

In another must-win mouth-watering encounter where either team needed by two goal margin victory, Korea defeated Pakistan 4-2 to qualify for the final.

However, the match was marred by ugly incidents, which saw a red card for Pakistan captain Mohd Imran. In addition four yellow cards were shown to players from both the teams.

Pakistan took the lead in the 32nd min off a set piece scored by Mohd Zubair, but Korea equalised six minutes later through Lee Nam Yong.

The Koreans went ahead when Lee Nam Yong converted a penalty stroke in the 46th min but Pakistan restored parity with Mohd Imran's penalty corner in the 57th minute.

Korea was awarded their second penalty stroke in the 66th min when Pakistan goalkeeper Imran Shah obstructed Kim Yong Jin. The Pakistanis protested against the decision and held up play for 10 minutes, which resulted in the red card for their skipper.

After the resumption, Korea went 3-2 up with Nam Hyun Woo finding the target and then ensured their place in the final when they struck again two minutes later through Nam Hyun Woo.

Australia will now play hosts Malaysia for the third position while Pakistan will face China for the fifth-sixth place playoff.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22