« Back to articlePrint this article

Women's hockey WC: India lands in tough pool

May 04, 2010 17:52 IST

A stern test awaits India in the women's hockey World Cup, to be held later this year, as they have been clubbed alongside Olympic and defending champions the Netherlands, Germany and Australia among others in Pool A.

Japan and New Zealand are the two teams in India's pool while Pool B consists of hosts Argentina, China, Spain, England, Korea and South Africa.

The International Hockey Federation allocated the 12 teams into two pools of six teams each based upon the latest ABN AMRO World Rankings.

The top two teams from each pool will proceed to the semifinals of the tournament to be held from August 29 to September 11 in Rosario, Argentina.

Pools for BDO FIH World Cup women 2010:

Pool A: The Netherlands, Germany, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, India.

Pool B: Argentina, China, Spain, England, Korea, South Africa.

© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.