Print this article

India to play China in Azlan Shah opener

March 30, 2010 19:27 IST

Defending champions India will take on China in their campaign-opener at the 19th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup International Hockey Tournament to be held at Ipoh, Malaysia from May 6-16.

Besides India and China, other countries taking part in the seven-nation annual tournament are world champions Australia, Asian number one South Korea, Pakistan, Egypt and hosts Malaysia.

The tournament will be played on a round-robin format with the top two teams clashing for the title, while the third and fourth teams will play for the bronze medal, a Hockey India release said on Tuesday.

Australia have won the event a record five times, while India emerged victorious on four occasions -- 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009 -- and were runner-up two years ago.

© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.