« Back to articlePrint this article

10 Indians in main draw of Indian Open TT

Last updated on: June 17, 2010 19:39 IST

Ten Indians, including four women, made it to the main singles draw of the NCC Indian Open ITTF Pro Tour 2010 after the qualifying round at the Yamuna Sports Complex in Delhi, on Thursday.

In the men's singles, Abhishek Ravichandran, Anirban Nandi, Sanil Shetty, Subhajit Saha, Amalraj Anthony Arputharaj and Sourav Chakraborty will join top seeded Indian Sharath Kamal in the main draw of 32 players.

Already in the main draw, Sharath begins his campaign against Ji Min Han of Korea on Friday.

The tournament is a test event for the October 3-14 Commonwealth Games.

Saurav faces a tough challenge as he meets second seed Ning Gao from Singapore in the first round.

Abhishek meets Chih Hu from Chinese Taipei.

In the women's singles, Shamini Kumaresan, Madhurika Patkar, Pooja Sahastrabudhe and Nandita Saha qualified for the main draw.

Shamini has a difficult first round match, as she meets the tournament's top seed Mengyu Yu from Singapore.

Nandita Saha will play Sayaka Hirano of Japan, while top Indian seed Mouma Das will begin her campaign against Dal Rae Jin of Korea.

© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.