» Sports » Sandeep Singh recalled to Hockey squad for Euro tour

Sandeep Singh recalled to Hockey squad for Euro tour

Source: PTI
June 16, 2010 12:23 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Dragflicker Sandeep Singh made a return, while injured striker Shivendra Singh and midfielder Arjun Halappa have been rested from a 22-member Indian hockey squad for a tour of Europe, starting next month.

sandeep singh"The squad will compete in the Four-Nation Hamburg Masters Tournament in Germany against the Netherlands, Japan and the hosts from July 2-4 followed by a Test series in Belgium, France and Holland," Hockey India said in a statement.

The team, to be led by forward Rajpal Singh, will play three Tests against Belgium from July 5-16 and another three-match series against France after that. They will wind up their Europe tour with two Tests against the Dutch on July 24 and 25.

"There are two changes made to Azlan Shah title-winning squad. Striker Shivendra Singh, who has injured his ankle, will miss the tour, while midfielder Arjun Halappa has been rested.

"Dragflicker Sandeep Singh, medio Ajitesh Roy and forward Hari Prasad have made a comeback while promising youngster Birendra Lakra Jr gets a first look into the senior squad," the HI statement read.

Sandeep had been dropped after the team's World Cup debacle.

The team was selected after trials at Balewadi, Pune, by a selection panel comprising Balbir Singh, BP Govinda and Sita Mehta. Government nominees Ajitpal Singh and Zafar Iqbal, coach Jose Brasa and national coach Harendra Singh also attended the trials.

Last year India had toured Europe and played in England, Belgium, Spain and Holland.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Sreejesh PR, Bharat Chetri.

Defenders: Sardar Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Rupinder Pal Singh, Sandeep Singh, Amit Prabhakar.

Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Ravi Pal, Prabodh Tirkey, Ajitesh Roy, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Vikas Pillay, Birendra Lakra Jr.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh (Captain), Tushar Khandeker, Sarvanjit Singh, Mandip Antil, Mohd Amir Khan, Hari Prasad, Dharamvir Singh.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22