NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Lotus named 13th team for 2010 F1 c'ship

Lotus named 13th team for 2010 F1 c'ship

September 15, 2009 14:25 IST

Lotus F1 carFormula One's governing body on Tuesday named Lotus as the 13th team for the 2010 championship.

The FIA said it had also received an impressive application from the BMW Sauber team, but that since BMW had announced it would withdraw support in 2010, there remained uncertainties regarding the future ownership of the team.

BMW Sauber was awarded '14th place' in the championship, meaning it will be entitled to fill any vacancy arising on the 2010 grid, a statement said.

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.