NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Anand Pawar in New Zealand GP quarters

Anand Pawar in New Zealand GP quarters

July 29, 2009 21:06 IST

Anand Pawar was the lone Indian survivor in the singles, advancing to the quarter-finals, while nine doubles pairs entered the pre-quarterfinals in the New Zealand Open Grand Prix badminton tournament in Auckland on Wednesday.

Three women's doubles and as many mixed doubles and men's doubles pairs reached the pre-quarter-finals after winning their respective matches.

Pawar, seeded seventh, beat Andreas Adityawarman of Indonesia 21-16, 18-21, 21-7 in 51 minutes to set up a quarter-final clash with Japan's Kazushi Yamada.

Top seed Yan Kit Chan of Hong Kong proved too difficult for R M V Gurusai Datt. The Indian lost 13-21, 11-21, while Anup Sridhar gave a walk over to another Hong Kong shuttler, Wing Ki Wong.

Aditya Prakash played his heart out before going down to Yoga Pratama of Indonesian 23-21, 15-21, 11-21.

In the women's singles, Trupti Murgunde beat Australian Renuga Veeran 21-16, 16-21, 21-19 before going down to Japan's fifth seed Eriko Hirose 12-21, 14-21 in the second round, while Neha Pandit could not even cross the first hurdle, losing 19-21, 15-21 to seventh seed Kristina Ludikova of the Czech Republic.

In the men's doubles, Tarun Kona and Arun Vishnu overcame the local pair of Ashraf Dhoray and Delius Tang, winning 21-17, 21-14 to set up a second-round clash with top seeded Indians Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas, who got a bye in the first round.

Akshay Dewalkar and Jishnu Sanyal also notched up a win, beating Kiwis Oliver Leydon-Davis and Henry Tam 16-21, 21-16, 21-15 and will take on another local pair, Kerrin Harrison and Leck S Tham in the pre-quarter-finals on Thursday.

Among other Indians in the fray, last week's Australian Open runners-up Aparna Balan and Shruti Kurian brushed aside the Mexican-New Zealander combo of Deyanira Angulo and Poh Lin Teo, winning 21-3, 21-9 and will next meet Australian-Filipino pair of Leanne Choo and Karyn Velez in the women's doubles.

Anjali Kalita and Jyotshna Polavarapu thrashed the local pair of Madeleine Stapleton and Melissa Yin 21-8, 21-8 and will face another local duo, Amanda Brown and Suzannah Leydon-Davis in the second round.

Pradnya Gadre and Nitya Sosale trounced Anona Pak and Aviva Pak 21-9, 21-9 to set up a clash with second seeded Indonesian pair of Anneke Feinya Agustine and Anisa Wahyuni.

However, Jishnu Sanyal and Nitya Sosale faltered in the first round when they lost to six seeded New Zealander combo of Joe Wu and Danielle Barry 21-16, 21-19.

In the mixed doubles, fifth seed Arun Vishnu and Aparna Balan beat New Zealand's Jian Dee Chew and Anna Rankin 21-10, 21-14 and will be up against another local pair, James Eunson and Stephanie Cheng.

Similarly, Akshay Dewalkar and Pradnya Gadre spanked eighth seed Oliver Leydon-Davis and Emma Chapple of New Zealand 21-6, 21-7, while Tarun Kona and Shruti Kurian drubbed another local combo Praveen Tayalan and Michelle HK Chan 21-9, 21-5.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.